Thoughts on Stage 11

Image result for giro d'italia 2017 stage 11

Ya! Another fun Giro stage! The whole day was hectic! Honestly I had trouble trying to keep everything straight. Omar Fraile, good sprint, actually still had the legs even though he spent the very most time on the front, and after a cagey little gamble of cat & mousing he gets the win. Well deserved, he’s officially a mountain breakaway regular and on his way to maybe earning another KOM jersey at a Grand Tour! Pierre Rolland, Rui Costa, Tanel Kangert, great efforts, great efforts.

Movistar didn’t do the tactic I hoped they would, but I’m glad they tried something. Raising Amador on GC would have been SUPER interesting, luckily for Sunweb Trek and FDJ were prepared to help them police the gap. No point imaging what Movistar would have done if Amador and Quintana were actually 2-3 on GC. Brian Smith made the astute observation that Quintana was probably very tired from that TT yesterday so drilling it all day may not have been reasonable for them. So like I said, I’m glad they tried something. Dumoulin looked well defending, I don’t know about the whole Sunweb team though.

I’m very conflicted: I’d love to see a Dumoulin GT win, but I think I’d rather see Quintana do the Giro-Tour double more!!!

Stage 12

Sprint. Usual suspects. Greipel, Gaviria, Ewan are the big ones. I’ll take one of these three vs the field. The finish looks fairly straight forward. I guess I’ll just pick……….Gaviria. No particular reason, I mean he’s got 2 and the chicolmino(?)……PURPLE jersey and I think he’s been the best placed in runner up spots.

Leave a Reply

